Research Focus

Research Project:


2014 AAI New Careers in Immunology Fellowship

2016 AAI Trainee Abstract Award

2017 AAI Trainee Abstract Award


  1. Cynthia T. Brewer, Greg Brewer, Ray J. Butcher, Everett E. Carpenter, Ann M. Schmiedekamp, Carl Schmiedekamp, Alison Straka, Carol Viragh, Yevgeniy Yuzefpolskiy, and Peter Zavalij. Synthesis and characterization of homo- and heterodinuclear M(II)-M′(III) (M(II) = Mn or Fe, M′(III) = Fe or Co) mixed-valence supramolecular pseudo-dimers. The effect of hydrogen bonding on spin state selection of M(II). Dalton Trans., 40, 181-194 (2011)
  2. Khan, A. A., Penny, L. A., Yuzefpolskiy, Y., Sarkar, S. & Kalia, V. MicroRNA-17~92 regulates effector and memory CD8 T-cell fates by modulating proliferation in response to infections. Blood 121, 4473–4483 (2013)
  3. Yuzefpolskiy Y, Baumann FM, Kalia V, Sarkar S. Early CD8 T-cell memory Precursors and terminal effectors exhibit equipotent in vivo degranulation. Cell Mol Immunol (2014)
  4. Yuzefpolskiy Y, Baumann FM, Penny LA, Kalia V, Sarkar S Vitamin D signals regulate breadth and survival of antigen-specific CD8 T cells during infections. J Nutr.144(12):2073-82. (2014)
  5. Kalia V., Penny L. A., Yuzefpolskiy Y, Baumann B. M., Sarkar S. Quiescence of memory CD8+ T cells is mediated by regulatory T cells through inhibitory receptor CTLA-4. Immunity (2015)
  6. Baumann FM, Yuzefpolskiy Y, Sarkar S, Kalia V Dicer Regulates the Balance of Short-Lived Effector and Long-Lived Memory CD8 T cell Lineages. PLOS ONE (2016)